EP with original music, composed and performed by Maja S. K. Ratkje and her two daughters Marte and Frida Haltli. The music is created for Matti Aikio’s video work with the same title. LINK TO BANDCAMP RELEASE ONLY Aikio’s work Peurakaira is a poetic and meditative portrait of – and a tribute to – Peurakaira, […]

Peurakaira Read More »

Divine Supplication

TRACKLIST: Nobilis Humilis East Tennessee Perfect Matrimony I Bowed Divine Supplication (feat. Maja S. K. Ratkje) S’on Me Regarde Avoiding Friction Bell, Book, Candle Falling Away A Not-Quite Locked Door LINK TO ALBUM ON BANDCAMP Divine Supplication, Derek Piotr’s new release, is a deeply intimate work wrought from a series of personal tragedies. Yet while

Divine Supplication Read More »

The Great Bailout

by Moor Mother The Great Bailout is Moor Mother aka Camae Ayewa’s ninth studio album and third with ANTI- Records, with production contributions on various tracks from Mary Lattimore, Lonnie Holley, Vijay Ayer, Angel Bat Dawid, Sistazz of the Nitty Gritty, Aaron Dilloway and more. Called “the poet laureate of the apocalypse,” by Pitchfork, Ayewa’s music contains multitudes of

The Great Bailout Read More »

MEUF vol. 1

A compilation featuring a small selection of some of the many interesting female voices on the blossoming field of experimental music in the Nordic countries, working in new collaborations. MEUF vol. 1 features:Maja S. K. Ratkje, Hilde Marie Holsen, Nina De Heney, Maria Laurette Friis, Qarin Wikström, Carolyn Goodwin, Nana Pi, Laura Toxværd, Marilyn Mazur,

MEUF vol. 1 Read More »

All Losses Are Restored

We are happy to present the debut album of the duo Stian Westerhus and Maja S. K. Ratkje, two Norwegian composers and performers known to the international scene through numerous works and albums in various constellations over decades. Released 15 March 2024 Crispin Glover Records. To many of their followers’ big surprise, Stian Westerhus and

All Losses Are Restored Read More »

Nordic: A Fragile Hope

For the immersive concert experience Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra (Göteborgs Symfoniker) has commissioned orchestral works from five prominent composers from all Nordic countries, Daníel Bjarnason (Iceland), Miho Hazama (Denmark), Mats Larsson Gothe (Sweden), Maja S. K. Ratkje (Norway) and Outi Tarkiainen (Finland). Drawing inspiration from the Nordic nature, each commission in “Nordic – A Fragile Hope”

Nordic: A Fragile Hope Read More »

Norwegian Songs, Vol. IV – TIDA VEIT

«Tida veit» er den fjerde utgivelsen i antologien “Norwegian songs”, denne gang med samtidskomponister. Utvalget av sanger har foregått i dialog med komponistene, og de fleste har tilrettelagt arrangementer for stemme, klarinet og strykekvintett – med velvillig støtte fra Norsk komponistforening. INNHOLD: 1 Det finst ei stille by Ståle Kleiberg (b. 1958) / Helge Torvund

Norwegian Songs, Vol. IV – TIDA VEIT Read More »


A compositional investigation of musical languages and conversation. Is the myth of BABEL about God creating communicative discord to control man, or was the intent to nurture fertile diversity?A disruption of a self-perpetuating echo chamber, to stimulate a more varied and complex perspective of the world.Maybe she wanted to show us that we will find

BABEL Read More »

(c)ovid’s metamorphoses

With a wide range of work by sound artists and musicians, writers, filmmakers, photographers, and visual artists, @ovid’s Metamorphoses uses the COVID-19 pandemic and its far-reaching consequences as an instrument for change, artistic and otherwise. A play on experiment across various fields of artistic practice, all featured work revolves around ideas of transmission and inspiration,

(c)ovid’s metamorphoses Read More »


Øra Fonogram announces the worldwide release of RÖKKUR, the joint album of Norwegian composer and performer Maja S. K. Ratkje and Icelandic ensemble Nordic Affect (Halla Steinunn Stefánsdóttir, Marie Stockmarr Becker, Hanna Loftsdóttir, Guðrún Óskarsdóttir). RÖKKUR on Bandcamp RÖKKUR on streaming other services Read the great album reviews here. What is ‘rökkur’? ‘Rökkur’ is the

RÖKKUR Read More »

Music for Saxophones

Music written by Christopher Fox, Maja S. K. Ratkje, David Lang, Christian Wolff, Simon Holt, Howard Skempton and Giacinto Scelsi for solo saxophone and saxophone and electronics, performed by Carl Raven. Releases 01 May 2023 | Recorded, mixed and mastered by Carl Raven in Padfield, Derbyshire, 2022 | Artwork by Carl Raven. Released by Turquoise

Music for Saxophones Read More »

Motorpsycho Tribute Series Volume 1

Volume 1 double LP version out spring 2023.Volume 2 double LP version out autumn 2023.Volumes 1 & 2 double CD version out autumn 2023. released February 13, 2023 On this album: Blueberry Daydream, performed by Blåbærtoppen Spelemannslag MOTORPSYCHO TRIBUTE SERIES · PSYCHONAUT 101Link to album on Bandcamp Side A: MONOLITE – Heartattack Mac (Gebhardt/Ryan/Sæther) 6:22Jonas

Motorpsycho Tribute Series Volume 1 Read More »

Various Artists: “The Border”

“Bocian Records presents a compilation with recordings from few of his favorite artists who were kind enough to agree to make their work available to support the Border Group.For almost a year, the whole responsibility for helping refugees on the Polish-Belarusian border lies on the shoulders of local residents, volunteers and a few non-governmental organizations.Border

Various Artists: “The Border” Read More »


Music for the film with the same title. Sound track to the great animation movie Titina by Kåre Chr. Vestrheim. “Je Cherche Après Tititine (Titina in the Street)” and “Je Cherche Après Tititine (Titina´s Musical Trip Version)” featuring Ratkje as a vocal soloist. Released by Propeller Recordings Oct 2022 and available at streaming services.

Titina Read More »

Scroll to Top