Tag Archives: vinyl

Kapital & Moral


The combination of the trio POING and vocalist Maja S. K. Ratkje has been referred to as among the best, boldest and most innovative players in the Norwegian music community. On their new album, “Kapital&Moral”, they present a selection of … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Crepuscular Hour


Crepuscular Hour was originally commissioned for a performance at the Ultima festival 2010 in Uranienborg church, Oslo. The work is composed for three choirs, three pairs of noise musicians and concert organ. All performers surround the audience, and are amplified … Continue reading




In the FLUXUS series. Music by Zuzana Husarová, Mama Bär, Demosthenes Agrafiotis, Maja S. K. Ratkje & Lasse Marhaug, Eighty Pound Pug, Andy Ortmann, Jörg Piringer, Cecilie Bjorgas Jordheim, Allan Revich and Andre Borges. In catalogue: Psych.KG 299.

Leave a comment



Concert recording from Rødbrygga, Inderøy, April 2013. Maja S. K. Ratkje (voice and live electronics) with the trio SAKA: Kristoffer Berre Alberts (saxophones), Jon Rune Strøm (double bass), Dag Erik Knedal Andersen (drums). CD and Vinyl. Mixed by Lasse Marhaug.

Leave a comment

Deviate From Balance


John Wiese’s long awaited Deviate From Balance is the artist’s first album since 2011’s Seven Of Wands (PAN). Recorded throughout Europe/UK, Australia, and the US, the album includes scored ensemble pieces including over 20 musicians on each, recorded in Melbourne … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Adventura Botanica


Rune Grammofon: “On in this botanical adventure – or “Adventura Botanica” – SPUNK join forces with one of Norway’s leading modern dance exponents, Odd Johan Fritzøe, to create a sound and movement work celebrating Darwin’s legendary, game-changing voyage to Madagascar. … Continue reading

Leave a comment

DJ Marcelle/Another Nice Mess Meets Most Soulmates At Faust Studio Deejay Laboratory


DJ Marcelle’s mix of music featuring Maja S. K. Ratkje’s “Joy” from the album Voice (Rune Grammofon). 4 LPs.

Leave a comment

Sailing To Byzantium


Rune Grammofon: “To celebrate 150 releases we have put together a selection of tracks showing where we are now, some label mainstays, personal favourites, hidden treasures and to round it off; a beautiful exclusive from Arve Henriksen. No expenses have … Continue reading

Leave a comment



Beautiful, hand pressed black vinyl from Maja S. K. Ratkje / Joachim Montessuis on the French label Erratum. A collaboration which started in 2008 and finished in 2013. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Voice (LP)


The debut solo album from founder SPUNK member and composer Maja Ratkje has secured her a place among the finest experimental singers. From the weird and furious to the enchanting and beautiful, this is an album rich in atmosphere, colour … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Scrumptious Sabotage

A recording of live performances which brought together two essential figures of the contemporary scene: an oustanding Norwegian composer and vocal artist Maja S.K. Ratkje and a celebrated improviser and composer , former DNA drummer, Ikue Mori. Continue reading

Leave a comment

Festival Electronica En Abril 2003-2012

2LP: A1 eleh – woven over A2 radian – rusty machines, dusty carpets B1 maja ratkje – B2 nsi. – quartz B3 farben – atrappp C1 dopplereffekt – dyson sphere C2 elektro guzzi – saftgulasch D1 thomas köner – tiento … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Pig Magic

The Norwegian noise duo Maranata (Jon Wesseltoft and Dag Stiberg) has released this 7″ with a CD included. 7″: Lucky Forever b/w Pig Magic. CD: 1. Pieces, 2. Gravity Connector, 3. Black Tongue Darshan Track 3 features Maja S. K. … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Twenty Centuries Of Stony Sleep

The Wire: “For their 100th release, Rune Grammofon commissioned 13 original pieces from their roster to display the label´s unerring ability to present a diverse range of approaches while maintaining a firm grip on its aesthetic.” RCD 2100 – Various: … Continue reading

Leave a comment


The Last Record Company/Rune Grammofon: “A rare live recording and her first solo album for quite some time, this finds Maja on top form. Since her recording debut as a member of SPUNK 10 years ago, she has continuously challenged … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Travel Now Journey Infinitely

CM distro: “Trinacria was originally a composition by Ivar Bjørnson (Enslaved), Maja S. K. Ratkje and Hild Sofie Tafjord (both from Fe-mail), commissioned by Rikskonsertene for a concert series. The line-up was completed by Grutle Kjellson, Ice Dale (both from … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Until Human Voices Wake Us And We Drown

Box set containing five 10″ vinyl records celebrating 50 Rune Grammofon releases. Includes 19 tracks by rune artists. “Some are cornestones in the catalog, but this is not a best of collection, we want to show the different aspects of … Continue reading

Leave a comment

The Rose Has Teeth In The Mouth Of A Beast

The Rose Has Teeth In The Mouth Of A Beast is a record by San Francisco duo Matmos. It is a series of “sound portraits” of a pantheon of people that they admire. A musical attempt at biography, it’s loose … Continue reading

Leave a comment

The Dalston Shroud

Soul Jazz Records: “Influenced by the New York Art/Punk scene of Sonic Youth, The Swans, Liquid Liquid, this is the group’s follow up to “Still Born Alive” (Soul Jazz Records, 2003) and ‘Beautiful People are Evil’ (Soul Jazz Records, 2001). … Continue reading

Leave a comment

Illegal Parking

Lotta Melin – theremin with effects. Maja S. K. Ratkje – flee market microphone. Duets and solos. Released as 12′ vinyl. Track list: A 01. A Perfect Mental Image A 02. Empty Ladders A 03. As the Talk Goes On … Continue reading

Leave a comment